Reeder & Brown, P.C.


The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration [1] provides that the rate of alcohol impairment among drivers involved in fatal crashes is four times higher at night. According to the Illinois Secretary of State's Office [2], 281 individuals died in alcohol related accidents accounting for thirty percent of all fatal crashes statewide in the year 2014.

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Joliet DUI

In 2014, there were 1,429 drivers arrested in Will County for driving under the influence. This is the fourth largest amount for any county in the state of Illinois with only Cook and Lake counties having a greater number of DUI arrests. If you are one of the many who are arrested for DUI in Joliet or Southern Naperville, you likely have many questions:

  • How Many Drinks Will Cause a DUI Arrest? - In the state of Illinois, a driver can be arrested for driving under the influence if they have operated a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs, including prescription drugs, and they have a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. Because each person metabolizes alcohol differently, there is no set amount of alcohol that results in a blood alcohol content of .08 or a Mokena DUI arrest.
  • What Does an Average DUI Offender Look Like? - The Illinois Secretary of State provides statistics regarding the average DUI offender, including:
    • 77% of all offenders are male;
    • 58% of offenders are under the age of 35;
    • A majority of arrests occur between 11:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. on weekends;
    • The average offender has a blood alcohol content of .17 which is twice the legal limit.
  • Should I Enter a Guilty Plea? - Even if you consumed alcohol before being arrested for a DUI, there may be any number of defenses that apply to your case. Only a skilled Bolingbrook DUI defense attorney can determine which defenses apply including:
    • Illegal stop by local law enforcement;
    • Officer lacked probable cause;
    • Inaccurate sobriety field tests;
    • Faulty breathalyzer, inexperienced operator and/or expired license;
    • Medical condition or consumption of prescription medications.
  • What Sentence Could I Get After a DUI Conviction? - The consequences for a Will County DUI conviction depend on the specifics of your individual case. One factor the Judge will consider is whether or not this is your first or subsequent offense. Possible consequences include:
    • First Offense:For a first DUI offense, you could be sentenced to up to one year in jail and fined up to $2,500 dollars, as well as a minimum revocation of your driver's license for a period of one year.
    • Second Offense:With a second offense, you could be sentenced to a minimum of five days in jail or 240 hours of community service and a maximum of one year in jail, as well as fines and a revocation of your driving privileges for a minimum of five years.
    • Third Offense:A third offense can result in the revocation of your driver's license for a minimum of ten years and fines up to $25,000.00 dollars, as well as possible jail time ranging from three to seven years.
    • Increased penalties are imposed in many situations, including where a blood alcohol level is .16 or more or if a minor was in the vehicle at the time the driver was under the influence. An experienced DUI defense attorney can review the specifics of your arrest and explain if any such increased penalties might apply.

    Contact an Experienced Will County DUI Defense Lawyer

    If you or a loved one are arrested for driving under the influence, it is important to speak to an experienced DUI Defense lawyer at Reeder & Brown, P.C. Our Will County DUI defense attorneys can review your case and work with you to develop the best defense possible. Call Reeder & Brown, P.C. today for a free consultation at 815-885-5980 or use our online contact form.


    [1] National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

    [2] Illinois Secretary of State's Office

Back to Top