58 North Chicago Street, Suite 404, Joliet, IL 60432

Call Us815-768-4800

Reeder & Brown, P.C.

Four Possible Felony Charges for Burglary in Illinois

Posted on in Criminal Law

IL defense lawyerAlthough people frequently think of “burglars” as people who break into houses and steal things, Illinois considers any form of breaking and entering to be burglary whether or not anything was actually stolen. As long as the prosecution can determine that an alleged burglary intended to commit the crime of theft or another felony crime, breaking and entering is considered a felony.

Additionally, breaking and entering can take place in other buildings and facilities besides homes; public buildings like schools and government offices, storage sheds, RVs or other trailers, and even aircraft can be burgled. If you have been charged with burglary in Illinois, it is important to understand the law and hire an experienced criminal defense attorney.

What Is Burglary?

Under Illinois law, burglary charges can be filed against an alleged offender who knowingly, and without permission, entered the property of another person intending to steal something or to commit another felony crime. No locks have to be broken for the charge of burglary to apply. The seriousness of the charges and consequences will depend on what exactly happened during the burglary. These charges, and when they apply, include:

  • Class 4 felony - Class 4 felonies can be charged against an alleged offender who is caught in possession of tools that could be used to break and enter. These include crowbars, lock picks, “slim jims,” and keys that do not belong to the alleged offender. Punishments for possession of these kinds of tools can include fines up to $25,000 and up to three years in jail.
  • Class 3 felony - If the alleged offender is caught breaking and entering but has not caused any property damage and has not committed theft, they can be charged with a Class 3 felony, fines up to $25,000, and up to five years in jail.
  • Class 2 felony - If property has been damaged, the alleged offender faces a Class 2 felony charge, up to $25,000 in fines, and up to seven years in jail.
  • Class 1 felony - When a burglary takes place in a school, house of worship, or daycare facility, the most serious Class 1 felony charges may apply. Alleged offenders face up to $25,000 in fines and up to 15 years in jail.

Call a Will County Criminal Defense Lawyer

Charges of burglary are serious and convictions can affect your life forever. If you have been charged and need an attorney who is skilled in developing defense strategies, call an experienced Joliet criminal defense attorney with Reeder & Brown, P.C. to schedule a free consultation. We are ready to defend you against any charges and will fight aggressively to position your case for a favorable outcome. Call us today at 815-768-4800.

 

Source:

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=072000050HArt%2E+19&ActID=1876&ChapterID=0&SeqStart=63000000SeqEnd=63800000

 

ISBA WCBA
Back to Top